How per diem works for electricians
Electrician per diem explained: what current ads pay, per day worked vs 7 days, hotel vs cash, distance rules, and GSA FY2027 rates to measure it against.
Per diem in electrician travel ads posted in October 2026 runs from $70 to $190 a day, most of it $100 to $150, with some industrial and data center jobs paying $125 a day for all 7 days ($875 a week). The federal yardstick is the GSA rate: $181 a day in most of the country for FY2027 ($113 lodging plus $68 meals), more in cities. The unit matters as much as the number: per day worked or all 7, and whether the hotel is on them.
This post covers how per diem gets paid. For the whole road check (rate, overtime, per diem, how long it runs), see the traveling electrician guide.
01What's a normal per diem for an electrician right now?
Most of the ads we pulled land between $100 and $150 a day, and 7-day per diem shows up on some of the bigger industrial and data center jobs.
Here's what live ads on RoadDogJobs showed, posted Oct. 8 to Oct. 19, 2026. Ads come down fast, so treat these as a snapshot, not a rate card.
| Job (location) | Rate | Per diem as posted | Unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Power plant, 6-10s, 3 months (Rapid City, SD) | $57 days, $59 nights (licensed) | $125 a day | All 7 days |
| Data center (Conesville, OH) | $34 to $38 | $875 a week | 7 days |
| Commercial and industrial, 50 hours (Albuquerque, NM) | $38 | $150 a day | Not stated |
| Switchgear terminations, 60 hours (Ellabell, GA) | $33 | $100 a day | Not stated |
| Industrial, travel or local (Castanea, PA) | $35 to $37 | $70 a day | Only if you live 60+ miles out |
| Power plant, 6-10s, about a year (Eagle Mountain, UT) | $55 (Utah licensed) | $190 a day | Only if you live 60+ miles out |
Two things jump out. Four of the six don't say whether per diem is paid on days off. And the South Dakota ad says "$125/day for all 7 days" in the body, which is $875 a week, while its header shows $1,075 a week. That's a $200 a week question to ask before you load the truck.
02Per day worked or all 7 days?
Seven-day per diem pays on the days you're stuck in the hotel too. Per day worked only pays when you clock in.
The difference is real money over a week, by our math:
| Daily per diem | 5 days | 6 days | 7 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| $70 | $350 | $420 | $490 |
| $100 | $500 | $600 | $700 |
| $125 | $625 | $750 | $875 |
| $150 | $750 | $900 | $1,050 |
| $181 (GSA FY2027 standard) | $905 | $1,086 | $1,267 |
On a 6-10 schedule with per day worked, $150 a day is $900 a week. Paid 7 days, it's $1,050. Over a 12-week job, that $150 a week gap is $1,800.
Ask three follow-ups when an ad says "per day":
- Do I get it on rain days and days the GC shuts the site?
- Do I lose it if I miss a day, and do I lose the weekend if I miss a Friday?
- Is the first and last day paid in full?
Union agreements answer this in writing. IBEW Local 340's June 2026 inside sheet for its southern counties, for example, counts $60 as the minimum meals and lodging expense "for each day worked," with $30 on the first and last day worked.
03Hotel provided or cash?
Cash per diem is only as good as what's left after you pay for the room.
Say the job pays $150 a day, 7 days, and the cheapest decent hotel near the site is $120 a night. That's $1,050 a week in, $840 a week out for the room, and $210 left to eat on for seven days. That's $30 a day. Share a room and the math changes fast.
When the company books the hotel, ask:
- Single room or shared? Kitchenette?
- How far is the hotel from the gate?
- Is there still meal money on top, and how much a day?
- If you bring your camper, do they pay you the lodging part instead?
04How far from home do you have to be to get per diem?
There's no single national distance. Each company or union agreement sets its own line, and the tax rules use a different test altogether.
Some real examples:
- IBEW Local 340 (northern counties, June 2026 sheet): travel pay of $7.50 a day at 20 to 30 miles, $10 at 30 to 40, and $20 at 40 to 55. At 55 road miles or more, it's subsistence, and the employer furnishes "meals and lodging expenses for each day or portion of each day worked."
- An industrial shop in Castanea, PA (ad posted Oct. 19, 2026): $70 a day "for candidates living 60+ miles from the job site."
The IRS doesn't use a mileage line. Per diem stays tax-free only if you're away from your tax home overnight on a job expected to last a year or less. The per diem tax rules for electricians post covers the tax home test and why a long drive home every night doesn't count.
05How to use GSA rates as a yardstick
The GSA rate is what the federal government pays its own people to travel, and it's what the IRS uses to decide how much per diem can stay off your W-2 wages.
GSA's FY2027 rates took effect Oct. 1, 2026. Here's the daily total for a few places with big electrical work:
| Location (county) | Lodging | Meals and incidentals | Daily total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard rate (most counties) | $113 | $68 | $181 |
| Columbus, OH (Franklin) | $138 | $80 | $218 |
| Loudoun County, VA | $121 | $80 | $201 |
| Des Moines, IA (Polk) | $122 | $80 | $202 |
| Omaha, NE (Douglas) | $128 | $80 | $208 |
| Salt Lake City, UT | $152 | $80 | $232 |
| Phoenix and Scottsdale, AZ (Maricopa) | $122 to $232 by season | $86 | $208 to $318 |
Use it two ways. First, as a check on the offer: $100 a day in Columbus doesn't cover a room at the GSA lodging rate, let alone meals. Second, as the tax line: per diem at or under the federal rate for that location stays out of box 1 of your W-2 if the plan is set up right. Above it, the extra is taxed as wages. Look up any county on GSA's per diem page.
06What to ask before you take a per diem job
Get these answered, and get the answers on paper from the company, before you leave home:
- How much, and per what: day, day worked, week?
- Seven days, or days worked only? What about rain days, holidays and days you miss?
- Hotel provided, or cash? Single or shared room?
- Paid weekly on the check, or as a separate payment?
- Is per diem on top of the rate, or did the rate drop to make room for it?
- Travel pay to get there and home at the end? Any trips home mid-job?
- How long is the job expected to run, and what phase is it in?
Question 5 matters most. A shop that cuts your rate and hands the difference back as per diem is paying you less on every overtime hour, and the IRS treats that swap as wages anyway. If you're weighing a road job against staying home, the travel vs local pay math puts both on one page. Data center jobs have their own pattern, covered in what data center electricians really make.
Before you compare per diem offers, see what your rate should be in the first place. Run your Pay Check to see what electricians with your license make near you. Takes about a minute, and your boss never hears about it.
See what your license pays near you.
Tap a few answers and see what electricians with your license make in your area. Free, about a minute, and your boss never hears about it.
Get my Pay CheckFAQFAQs
Is $100 a day per diem good for an electrician?
It's on the low side of October 2026 travel ads, where $100 to $150 a day was common. It also sits well under the GSA FY2027 standard rate of $181 a day. Whether it works depends on the unit (7 days or days worked) and what a hotel costs near the site.
Do electricians get per diem on days off?
Only if the deal says so. Ads that say "7 days" or "Per Diem Paid 7 Days" pay on weekends. Many ads don't say, and union agreements often pay per day worked. Ask before you go.
Does per diem count toward my overtime rate?
Usually not, when it's a real travel expense payment. DOL's overtime rules leave pay for expenses incurred on the employer's behalf out of the regular rate. If the per diem is really part of your pay, like a wage cut paid back as per diem, that's a different story.
Can I get per diem working close to home?
A company can pay it, but it won't be tax-free. If you sleep in your own bed every night, you're not away from your tax home, and the IRS counts the money as wages.
Is per diem paid on the same check as my wages?
Often it is, as its own line. If it's at or under the federal rate under an accountable plan, it shouldn't be counted in your taxable wages. Check the first stub. If the per diem is lumped into your hourly pay, ask why.
Sources
- GSA, Per diem rates
- GSA, FY2027 per diem rates file (effective Oct. 1, 2026)
- IRS Publication 463, Travel, Gift, and Car Expenses
- IBEW Local 340, Inside Wireman wage sheets, effective June 1, 2026
- U.S. Department of Labor, Fact Sheet #23, Overtime pay
- RoadDogJobs, Electrician job listings (viewed Oct. 19, 2026)
- RoadDogJobs, Industrial electricians, Rapid City, SD (posted Oct. 19, 2026)
- RoadDogJobs, Electrician, mission critical, Conesville, OH (posted Oct. 8, 2026)
- RoadDogJobs, Industrial electricians, Castanea, PA (posted Oct. 19, 2026)
- RoadDogJobs, Licensed journeyman, Albuquerque, NM (posted Oct. 19, 2026)
- RoadDogJobs, Electrician, switchgear terminations, Ellabell, GA (posted Oct. 19, 2026)
- RoadDogJobs, Licensed Utah journeyman electricians, Eagle Mountain, UT (posted Oct. 19, 2026)
